Clarkson Covered Bridge
Religious Affiliation: Neutral
Business Affiliation: Cullman County Parks & Rec
One of Cullman's most well known attractions and historically rich sites, Clarkson Covered Bridge, originally built in 1904, and was once used regularly by farmers and travelers to cross Crooked Creek, the weatherworn bridge is now closed to traffic, the centerpiece of a park built in period fashion to showcase the bridge and its historical significance. The bridge was torn in two, in 1921 by a huge storm. One piece was left intact, the other swept down stream and soon salvaged. One year later, the project to repair the bridge with the salvaged material was completed.
On June 25, 1974, Clarkson Covered Bridge was named to the National Register of Historic Places. Shortly thereafter, in 1975, the Cullman County Commission restored the site with the help of concerned citizens as part of the American Bicentennial Project, embellishing the grounds with hiking trails, a picnic area, and two period structures built to accent the historical nature of the bridge: a Dogtrot log cabin and a working grist mill. Located just off U.S. Highway 278 in Bethel, Clarkson Bridge is the site of numerous weddings, car shows and various other activities. Rent the Cabin, today!